A Prayer A Day- 4/4/2015 Are You Rattling and Not Listening?

A Prayer A Day- 4/4/2015  

Are You Rattling and Not Listening?

If Today’s Prayer Is A Blessing To You, Please Share It With Others  

Today’s Scripture(s) – Ezekiel 2:1 (KJV & NLT)

“And he said unto me, Son of man, stand upon thy feet, and I will speak unto thee.” … ” “Stand up, son of man,” said the voice. “I want to speak with you.”

Are we talking so much and not hearing what the Lord is saying to us? Many of us go into prayer and we rattle off our wants, our needs, our desires. We rattle off what this one did to us the other day. We rattle off what that one did to us the other day. We rattle off our aches our pains. We rattle off everything going on in our lives. We ask the Lord to bless us, bless our families, bless this one and bless that one. We moan and groan at the Lord and complain and mumble and grumble at the Lord and then we say, “Amen”. We say Amen and get up and go on about our business. This happens more often than not in prayer time for many of us, think about it. Is this what happens when you go to your secret place to ‘spend time’ with the Lord? I have a short scenario for you, I’ll use myself as an example, don’t want to step on anyone’s toes: I call my sister and as soon as she picks up the phone I say: [“Hi Sis, so today this person got on my nerves so bad at the store that I had to give them a piece of my mind and then after I left the store to go to my car, I had a flat tire, I could not believe the day I was having, YOU know I don’t know how to change a tire! So I had to call Triple A and they took forever coming I was in tears almost by the time the man came. Then the man that came to change my tire kept trying to hit on me and I kept reverting the conversation to my fiance’ and flashing my engagement ring but he didn’t pay any of that any mind and I was becoming very annoyed. So I decided to call Juana and talk to her and she has been sick for a few days and I felt so bad, I wanted to go see her but she said not to come she didn’t want me to get sick to, so I hung up and I whispered a prayer to the Lord and asked Him to touch her and bring healing to her body, (now all the while that I’m rattling off my Sis is just listening and I hear a ‘yeah’ and ‘ok’ every now and then), the man finally finishes changing my tire and I head for home and when I get home, guess what? (Not even allowing her to say ‘what’ or if she did I barely heard it because I continued on with my rant), the front window is broken and I’m like, Oh My God!, well listen Sis, I’ll call you later got to go. (Click).] Now think about how you would feel if you were my sister.  This is what it’s like when many of us ‘spend time with the Lord’. We don’t give the Lord time to speak to us because we are so busy talking at Him. Now think about how the Lord must feel.  Am I saying it’s wrong to rattle off to the Lord? Not by any means whatsoever. The Lord wants us to talk to Him and guess what? He wants to talk with us too. He wants us to hear Him. Revelation 3:20 “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” (Just something to think about, it’s what struck me when I read today’s scripture verse).

Today’s Prayer:

Father I thank you for another day to give you thanks and praise. I thank you Father for your great goodness and mercy on my life and the lives of all my love ones and the lives of all your children. Father I bless you and praise you and honor you today. I bless you for your grace and your mercy, your kindness and your love. Thank you Father God for being so good to me, I bless you Lord for all things. Lord I simply ask today that you would give me a mind, give us the mind to be still in your presence to be still in our time of prayer and listen for your still small voice. Open our ears to hear you Lord. I want to hear what the Spirit is saying to me. I know that you speak through your Word and all that I hear I know that your Word backs it up and I will look to your Word to confirm what I hear in my spirit man. I don’t want to miss your instructions Lord because I am so busy rattling off. Help me to quiet down, Help me Holy Spirit to tune my heart, to tune my ears into your voice and Help me Holy Spirit to walk in obedience to your will Lord and to your ways. Father I bless you, bless you, bless you. I thank you Father God for leading and guiding me. I thank you for ordering my steps in your word Lord. You are so great and you are so good to me and I give you all the glory, I give you all honor and I give you all the praise. Bless your great and holy and wonderful and awesome name, In Jesus name I pray. Amen

About JuanitaVernee

About A Prayer A Day was birthed after I nearly died in 2010. "Like" A Prayer A Day to help us reach the masses for Christ. Mission "A Prayer A Day", our mission is to reach the masses by sharing our Daily Prayer everywhere the Lord allows. We believe we are commissioned to reach the loss and claim souls for the kingdom of God, snatching them from the gates of hell... Destined to reach the world for Christ! Description IT'S ABOUT LOVE, PEACE AND JOY IN CHRIST JESUS! None of us is perfect, but we reach forward toward perfection. Sometimes we need a little help, a word of encouragement can do much more than you think. A Prayer A Day comes to you with this 1 thought in mind: To Bring You Spiritual Strength and Prayerful guidance to Christ Like Living in hopes of bringing you to a closer walk with the Lord Jesus Christ, this is my prayer for each A Prayer A Day reader. Each prayer is prayerfully written daily and includes a scripture from the Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian, God, God's love, Holy Ghost, Holy Spirit, intercession, Jesus, Jesus Christ, prayer, Salvation, Spiritual, Spiritual Warfare and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

