A Prayer A Day – 9/25/2015 Down On My Knees

Today’s Scripture(s) – Daniel 6:10

“Now when Daniel knew that the writing was signed, he went into his house; and his windows being open in his chamber toward Jerusalem, he kneeled upon his knees three times a day, and prayed, and gave thanks before his God, as he did aforetime.”

There’s something about being on your knees when you pray. So often in this day and time we all stand or sit, those of us who pray, we stand, sit or even lay and pray. Now I am not saying that these postures of prayer are wrong. What I am saying is there is something about kneeling, something about being on our knees as we go before the Lord. I was reminded this morning of a song that I sung when I was a little girl. “Down on my knees when trouble arise. I talk to Jesus, beyond the skies. He promised me, He’d hear my plea, if I would tell Him down on my knees.” When we go to our knees it is an act of surrender. When we go to our knees before the Lord it is an act of surrender and an act of reverence to Father God. Standing and praying is fine but there is something about bowing our heads on our knees before Almighty God! It is humbling and it gives us a feel for just how much we need the Lord. Some of us have not gotten down on our knees in years to pray. I know I shared this recently but I feel compelled to share it again here. This dream will be with me to the end of my days as not even putting it into words does it justice. I was kneeling with many souls and we were before the throne of God the Father. Not just on our knees but down on our knees with our heads down facing the floor, but I could see all around me and every soul was like beams of light, beams of individual lights and we were all praising and worshiping God the Father and suddenly we knew Jesus was coming. Jesus was coming and about to pass our way and I turned to the soul next to me and said. “He’s coming! Jesus is coming! I have to see Him! I have to see Him!” and as I began to lift up my head, I awoke. Down on our knees worship erupts. Down on our knees praise erupts. Down on our knees brokenness happens. Down on our knees contriteness takes place. Down on our knees humbleness begins. Down on our knees, there is something about being down on our knees in prayer.
Today’s Prayer:
Father God in the name of Jesus I give you praise, I give you glory, I give you honor. Father God in the name of Jesus I lift you up and glorify your great name. Father God in the name of Jesus I thank you for your goodness and your mercy that follows me all the days of my life. I bless you Father God for your great goodness, for your great love, for your great kindness to me and to all of us. I thank you Father for being so merciful to us Lord. I thank you Lord for your mercy that endures forever. I thank you Lord for giving us the opportunity to get things right with you, to get things in order.  I thank you Lord for this reminder of being on my knees in prayer, being on my knees seeking you out, being on my knees allowing your presence to permeate my being, allowing your presence to work and do surgery on my heart, allowing your presence to cleanse me of all unrighteousness. Lord I thank you! Father, let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight. Create in me Lord a clean heart and renew a right spirit within me. Remove from me the stony heart and put within me a heart of flesh that is pliable in your hand, a heart of flesh that you Lord can make and mold into what you would have it to be. Cleanse me Lord Jesus. Wash me Lord Jesus. Washi me Lord in your precious blood. While down on my knees Lord give me a mind that is willing and determined to be humble and meek before you. Remove from me all puffed up ways. Forgive me for ways and thoughts that are unrighteous and impure. Remove from me Father God the way of lying, the way of hatred, the way of unforgiveness, the way of gossiping, the way of backbiting, the way of smugness, the way of superiority, remove from me Father God any and all ways that are an offense to you, In the name of Jesus! I want to awake with your likeness Lord. I want to behold your face in righteousness then I will be satisfied. I will be satisfied when I awake with your likeness. “To be like Jesus, to be like Jesus, how I long to be like Him, so meek and lowly, so humble and holy, how I long to be like Him.” Blessing and honor to you Father God. Bless your great and holy name. In Jesus name I pray. Amen
About JuanitaVernee

About A Prayer A Day was birthed after I nearly died in 2010. "Like" A Prayer A Day to help us reach the masses for Christ. Mission "A Prayer A Day", our mission is to reach the masses by sharing our Daily Prayer everywhere the Lord allows. We believe we are commissioned to reach the loss and claim souls for the kingdom of God, snatching them from the gates of hell... Destined to reach the world for Christ! Description IT'S ABOUT LOVE, PEACE AND JOY IN CHRIST JESUS! None of us is perfect, but we reach forward toward perfection. Sometimes we need a little help, a word of encouragement can do much more than you think. A Prayer A Day comes to you with this 1 thought in mind: To Bring You Spiritual Strength and Prayerful guidance to Christ Like Living in hopes of bringing you to a closer walk with the Lord Jesus Christ, this is my prayer for each A Prayer A Day reader. Each prayer is prayerfully written daily and includes a scripture from the Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in backslidden, backslider, Bible, Christian, Christian prayer, daily prayer, God, God's love, Holy Ghost, Holy Spirit, intercession, Jesus, Jesus Christ, praise and worship, prayer, prayer of the day, Salvation, Spiritual, Spiritual Warfare, today's prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

