A Prayer A Day – 9/29/2015 True Repentance

Today’s Scripture(s) – Proverbs 28:13

“He that covereth his sins shall not prosper: but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy.”

There are not many that are crying aloud and sparing not. The cry of the morning for those who say they are the chosen of God should not be “let me see how much money I can make today”, “I’m going to get that fabulous car”, “I’m going to buy me a brand new house”, “I’m going to get me this and get me that”, “look how wonderful and awesome I am” and I could go on and on. The cry of the morning should be “REPENT FOR THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN IS AT HAND!” Winning souls, snatching them from the gates of hell, healing, deliverance, peace and joy in the Holy Ghost for men, women and children is the heartbeat of our Lord and Savior. Jesus said in John 10:10 “…I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” An abundant life is not an sin filled life, is not a life that is not in the kingdom of God, is not a life that has no relationship with the Lord, is not a life that is not surrendered to our Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. It does not matter how much ‘STUFF’ a person has, without Jesus they are destitute.   Stepping into abundant life begins with repentance. Now let’s take a look at what repentance is NOT. I know many believe repentance is going to the altar and saying “I’m sorry Lord for sinning”. This is the thinking of many. Even after being told the definition of ‘repent’, many still believe that walking down the aisle at church going to the altar and dropping to their knees and saying “I’m sorry Lord for sinning, forgive me” and then getting up going back to their seat, leaving the service and continuing to walk in their sinful ways and, many will say “I went to church and gave my life to Jesus and repented of my sins, now I’m good.” This is the furthest thing from the truth. True real repentance is to confess our sins and as today’s scripture says, forsake them. Several times in scripture the Lord Jesus healed and then he specifically said, ‘go and sin no more’. Those words were not just said for that person and that time. The Lord is crying out to us to REPENT, to go and sin no more. Are we alone in this? Of course not, the Lord has given to us His Holy Spirit to lead us and guide us and He has also given us His Word. 2 Timothy 3:16-17 “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.” We must die daily to this flesh that we are in and believe it or not we must live a life of repentance. As we walk with the Holy Spirit He will guide us and when we are in our place of prayer in our place of seeking the Lord with all our heart, soul and mind when we are crying out to the Lord to cleanse us and help us to live holy before Him, when we are saying to the Lord correct me when I am wrong, keep me on the right pathway that leads to Him, He will do it and He will show us the things that we need to ask Him to forgive us for and help us to turn away from them… (I am compelled to stop here).
Today’s Prayer:
Father in the name of Jesus I come before you today thanking and praising you for your goodness and your mercy and your grace and your love. I lift you up today Father and give you all the glory. Thank you Father God for being so good to me and to all of my brothers and sisters in you, Father today I lift up myself and my brothers and sisters before you. I pray today that you would help us Holy Spirit to walk in repentance. Correct us Lord and keep us on the pathway that leads to life eternal with you Father God. Help us Holy Spirit to live a life that is obedient to our Father God. Help us to say NO to the things of the devil and YES to the things of God. Don’t allow us to bend to compromise. Don’t allow us Lord to be deceived by the enemy and don’t allow us to deceive ourselves. Help us Lord to be doers of your word and not hearers only, in the name of Jesus! Your word says that without holiness we will not see you. Help us Holy Spirit to walk in holiness. Help us Lord to be determined to die to fleshly ways today and every day that you allow us to open our eyes.  Father God create in us clean hearts and renew a right spirit within us Lord don’t cast us away from your presence Father God and please don’t take your Holy Spirit from us! We confess our sins before you Father God and we forsake them this day. We want hearts of true repentance, not lip service, but we come before you Father with broken and contrite hearts, your word says that you will not despise a broken and contrite heart. Help us to walk with meekness and humbleness before you Father God, daily. Help us to walk circumspect before you Father God, daily. Help us Holy Spirit to have the mind of Christ and touch lives bringing them into the kingdom, snatching them from the gates of hell! Father I thank you! Father I worship you! Father I glorify and honor your great name. In Jesus name I pray. Amen
About JuanitaVernee

About A Prayer A Day was birthed after I nearly died in 2010. "Like" A Prayer A Day to help us reach the masses for Christ. Mission "A Prayer A Day", our mission is to reach the masses by sharing our Daily Prayer everywhere the Lord allows. We believe we are commissioned to reach the loss and claim souls for the kingdom of God, snatching them from the gates of hell... Destined to reach the world for Christ! Description IT'S ABOUT LOVE, PEACE AND JOY IN CHRIST JESUS! None of us is perfect, but we reach forward toward perfection. Sometimes we need a little help, a word of encouragement can do much more than you think. A Prayer A Day comes to you with this 1 thought in mind: To Bring You Spiritual Strength and Prayerful guidance to Christ Like Living in hopes of bringing you to a closer walk with the Lord Jesus Christ, this is my prayer for each A Prayer A Day reader. Each prayer is prayerfully written daily and includes a scripture from the Holy Bible.
This entry was posted in backslidden, backslider, Bible, Christian, Christian prayer, daily prayer, God, God's love, Holy Ghost, Holy Spirit, intercession, Jesus, Jesus Christ, praise and worship, prayer, prayer of the day, Salvation, Spiritual, Spiritual Warfare, today's prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

